Monthly Wrap-Up: May 2020

I may have overdid it with requesting ARCs and didn’t realize it until I saw how many upcoming titles I needed to read this month. So I dedicated May to crossing a whole bunch off my list! I also read twice as many books this month now that I’m finished with school and had extra time to myself for reading. Oh, and I passed the NCLEX earlier this month and am now officially a registered nurse!  🎉


44603554._SY475_HOUSE OF DRAGONS: This was a gripping, entertaining fantasy story perfect for fans of A Game of Thrones who are looking for a YA book with similar aspects. The story follows five unexpected choices competing for the throne. One thing I really liked about this book was that it didn’t shy away from the violence. There’s gripping action, bloody scenes, and moments of pure brutality. I also enjoyed the dynamics that formed between the different characters, and how they eventually created a sort of found family.  ARC provided by Random House Children’s through NetGalley.  ★★★½  [review]

45044785THE SILVERED SERPENTS: A marvelous sequel to The Gilded Wolves. The story is a bit darker and serious than the first book, but nevertheless just as amazing. The crew heads off to Siberia in search of a hidden castle and lost artifact, unaware that for Laila, finding it could mean the difference between life and death. A few new characters are introduced and I’m glad I was able to catch the hints for who they both were before the big reveal! And that ending….I don’t know how I’m going to make it through the wait for the next book.  ARC provided by Wednesday Books through a giveaway.  ★★★★½  [review]

52888729._SX318_SY475_INCENDIARY: One of my favorite aspects about this book was the worldbuilding. I really loved the Spanish Inquisition-era setting and the magical system was well thought out and executed. I’ve read a few complaints in other reviews that readers were too confused at the start, but I I actually think the book did a great job starting in the middle of the action. This book was entertaining and easily draws the reader into the story. ★★★★  [review]

33973264THE COURT OF MIRACLES: When I first heard this was a loose retelling of Les Mis, centered around Eponine, with elements of The Jungle Book blended in, I was instantly intrigued. It seems like a tall order to combine those two stories, but Kester Grant somehow managed it perfectly. I wasn’t a fan of the time jumps or the romance aspect (for the most part), but I loved the guilds, the criminal workings of underground Paris, and of course, Nina.  ARC provided by Random House Children’s through NetGalley.  ★★★½

49624654._SX318_SY475_THE TROUBLE OF WITH HATING YOU: Both Liya and Jay were great protagonists for the story. The initial hate-to-love between them was fun to read, but I also enjoyed the gentle warming up to each other and the slow-burn of their romance. Liya and Jay compliment each other perfectly and it was amazing to watch them support and guide one another through hardships. I really enjoyed how diverse this book was as well. It’s rich in Indian culture and lends readers an insight into the traditions.  ARC provided by Forever through NetGalley.  ★★★★  [review]

Untitled-1THE PRISONER’S WIFE: This story is a harrowing tale about maintaining love, hope, friendship, and perseverance during incredible hardships. It’s loosely inspired by an incredible true story. It’s hard not to be captivated by Izzy and Bill’s story from the beginning, and I loved watching their transformation and character growth through the book. The writing was amazing; the desperation and bleakness felt by the character bleeds through the pages and into the reader.  ARC provided by Berkley through NetGalley.  ★★★★½  [review]

52867387._SX318_SY475_BEACH READ: From the first chapter I was absolutely captivated by the story. The way Emily Henry writes January’s character it’s impossible not to empathize with her and feel her pain and confusion. At first, this appears to be a cute, heartwarming summer rom-com, but it also has moments of darkness and emotional pain that pulls the reader even harder into the story. I loved Gus and January; they were relatable, complicated, and realistically written. I could not get enough of their amusing interactions and growing attraction.  ARC provided by Berkley through Edelweiss.  ★★★★★  [review]

49629448A SONG OF WRAITH AND RUINS: This is a debut West African-inspired fantasy novel featuring a merciless princess and a refugee boy who possesses magic. The story is told through dual POVs, Malik and Karina, who are total opposites. Malik is the definition of a soft, cinnamon boi and Karina is strong-willed, brash, and assertive. The history and folklore of the worldbuilding was intriguing and intricately woven into the story and I really liked the inclusion of the magic systems.  ARC provided by Balzer + Bray through Edelweiss.  ★★★ 

50921307._SX318_SY475_CHOSEN: I never really got into Buffy, having only watched one or two seasons before quitting, but I thoroughly enjoyed reading Slayer last year. Vampire and paranormal books took up a majority of my reading when I was in high school so I had a lot of fun with it. This was a perfect sequel to Slayer. I once again loved following in Nina’s footsteps throughout the story and found the book to be entertaining, light, and exciting.  ★★★

52695959._SX318_SY475_SAY YES TO THE DUKE: These books have gotten better for me as the series as gone on! I really enjoyed reading Viola’s story and the building feelings and tension between her and Devin. In most historical romances, the male lead denies his feelings/attractions for the heroine (I love me some good angst) and refuses the notion of marriage, but here Devin almost immediately comes to terms with his growing attraction and doesn’t shy away from wanting to woo Viola and convince her to become his wife. The change of pace was really refreshing and the more intimate scenes were definitely steamy!  ★★★½

Dance of Thieves_FINAL 9.18DANCE OF THIEVES: I put off reading this because of it’s size and I was unsure how I felt about reading a companion series of sorts. Not only was I completely blown away by this book, but I ended up loving it even more than The Remnant Chronicles. The book was fast-paced, full of action, and I completely adored the characters, Kazi and Jase. I flew through the chapters and loved every minute I spent immersed in the world.  ★★★★½  [review]

34196663VOW OF THIEVES: Very rarely is the sequel as good as the first book, but this was just as amazing as Dance of Thieves. I typically hate the second-book trope in which the main characters spend the majority of the time separated from each other, but there was so much going on that it didn’t bother me once. And it actually made their reunion so much sweeter. The stakes are definitely raised in this book and the action is nonstop. Also, I am obsessed with Jase and Kazi. I’m so mad at myself for sleeping on this series for so long!  ★★★★½  [review]

52038346SISTERS OF SWORD AND SONG: I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: we need more fantasy standalones! This book was fabulous. I’m a huge sucker for anything ancient Greek related and definitely sated my palate. The story was very fast-paced, the worldbuilding well-done yet simple and easy to understand, and the characters were wonderful. It was an extremely enjoyable and fun story to read.  ARC provided by HarperTeen.  ★★★★


OTHER

Let’s Talk Bookish: Subscription Boxes | #SixforSunday: Favorite Characters from a Series | WWW Wednesday #30 | Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Abandoned | #SixforSunday: Heart-wrenching Endings to a Series | WWW Wednesday #29 | #SixforSunday: Favorite Starts to a Series

Post Signature

6 thoughts

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.