Romance Recs for Fans of Bridgerton

Hello friends! For those of us who loved Bridgerton, it’s no secret that the second season is nearly upon us. March 25th cannot come quick enough! The great thing about the popularity of Bridgerton, even among those who aren’t avid readers, is that more people were interested in reading historical romances. I’ve never been ashamed of my love for this genre, and it makes me really happy that the negative stigma surrounding these books are slowly disappearing and more people are giving them a try. I’ve been working on this post for a while, and since today’s Top Ten Tuesday theme is a love freebie I thought it’d be the perfect fit. So if you’re a fan of the Bridgerton show or a fan of the books, or just a romance fan in general: here are some of my favorites that I highly recommend!


THE VISCOUNT WHO LOVED ME – Julia Quinn

I don’t care if you choose to read no other book in the Bridgerton series, The Viscount Who Loved Me is a must. It’s the best book in the entire series and my favorite historical romance, period. Everything about this book is perfection. The banter between Kate and Anthony is amazing, the chemistry is unmatched, and the humor is perfect without being over-the-top.

Hate-to-Love Trope
Heated arguments ✓
Palpable sexual tension ✓
Love declaration that will make you swoon ✓


THE ROGUE NOT TAKEN – Sarah MacLean

If you’re looking for a book that takes every good romance trope and smooshes them all into one entertaining story, The Rogue Not Taken is the book for you. Every time I reread this it’s just as extraordinary and delightful as the first time. This book has everything: it will make you swoon, it will make you laugh, it will make your heart flutter.

Hate-to-Love Trope
Fake Relationship Trope
Forced Proximity Trope
Slow-burn feelings ✓
Steamy scenes ✓


ANY DUCHESS WILL DO – Tessa Dare

Tessa Dare is the absolute queen of historical romance and if you don’t know where to start with trying out these books, you can literally pick up any one of her titles. I’ve read every single one and I’ve yet to be disappointed. Any Duchess Will Do is one of my favorites of hers. Griffin and Pauline are amazing characters, the banter will make you laugh, and the passion between them will set your pages on fire.

Fake Relationship Trope
Witty banter ✓
Swoon-worthy hero ✓
Highly passionate sex scenes ✓


TO HAVE AND TO HOAX – Martha Waters

This book was a complete and utter surprise when I read it and it deserves so much more hype than it received. The story follows James and Violet, and estranged couple who decided to engage in a game of one-upping each other with elaborate pranks. If you enjoyed Sarah Hogle’s You Deserve Each Other, this is the historical romance version! It’s extremely entertaining and makes for a fun, romantic read.

Second Chance Romance Trope
Hate-to-Love Trope
Unresolved sexual tension ✓
Laugh-out-loud scenes ✓


DO YOU WANT TO START A SCANDAL – Tessa Dare

Like I said earlier, you really can’t go wrong with any Tessa Dare book. After being caught in a compromising position and mistaken for a mystery lovers tryst, Piers and Charlotte are forced into a marriage of convenience and a partnership to find the real mystery lovers. My favorite part of this book was watching the love bloom between the two characters, and how Charlotte insisted on wanting a marriage of equality and partnership. Tessa Dare also slips in a joke about eggplants which to this day makes me giggle like a schoolgirl.

Marriage of Convenience Trope
Slow-burn feelings ✓
Brooding hero ✓
Steamy scenes ✓


IT HAPPENED ONE AUTUMN – Lisa Kleypas

What do you get when you mix an uptight British lord with a rambunctious American heroine? Sparks flying and a tempestuous relationship full of arguments, tension, and kissing. Westcliff and Lillian cannot stand each other, and so a majority of the book is Lillian finding ways to get under Westcliff’s skin, and Westcliff struggling to avoid the American hellion.

Hate-to-Love Trope
Palpable sexual tension ✓
Heated arguments that lead to kissing ✓


THE DAY OF THE DUCHESS – Sarah MacLean

If you enjoy having your heart ripped to shreds, please look no further than The Day of the Duchess. This book can only be described as story full of angst and heartache between Serafina and Haven. It’s definitely not as light-hearted as other books on this list, but it’s completely worth the read. It has a happy ever after, no worries there, but be prepared for your heart to get put throw the ringer first.

Second Chance Romance Trope
Angst galore ✓
Emotional turmoil ✓
Sexual chemistry off the charts ✓


A ROGUE OF ONE’S OWN – Evie Dunmore

I don’t think I’ve read another book with as much longing and tension between two characters as this one. Lucie and Tristan have spent years repressing their feelings for each other which creates a dynamic between with enough tension that can be cut with a knife. With a plucky, independent heroine and a roguish hero, there’s enough sparks flying to light up the sky!

Hate-to-Love Trope
Slow-burn feelings ✓
Excellent banter ✓
Sizzling chemistry ✓


THE SCOUNDREL IN HER BED – Lorraine Heath

I like to read HR books for the romance and the smut, not to spend an hour bawling my eyes out. And yet, this book has all three: romance, smut, and enough emotional turmoil to cause heartache. Finn and Lavinia spend the whole book remembering their past love, and trying to ignore the years of yearning and the desire that still blooms between them. There’s just something extra special when characters who were once in love, manage to both grow and change as people and find love again.

Second Chance Romance Trope
Childhood lovers ✓
Angst ✓
Undeniable chemistry ✓


THE GOVERNESS GAME – Tessa Dare

One of the most well-known and frequently written kinds of books in the historical romance genre is the tale of the reformed rake. Many of the books listed above fall under this category as well, but The Governess Game is one of my favorite examples. Chase is refuses to settle down, and Alexandra sets her sights on reforming him. I loved the relationship that eventually grows between Chase and Alexandra, and I absolutely adored the way they formed a family together with Chase’s two young charges.

Slow-burn feelings
Smoldering chemistry ✓
Tortured hero with a heart of gold ✓
Heartwarming story ✓


11 thoughts on “Romance Recs for Fans of Bridgerton

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.